Pastor, What Is Your Title?

A trend I have seen lately among pastors is the use of the term ‘Founding Pastor’ or ‘Founder’ when referring to their title or who they are. I looked up the word ‘founder’ and find a few definitions. The definition I believe they are trying to use is:

One who establishes something (institution, company, society, etc.) or formulates the basis for something.

Because I really do not think they are using this one:

To sink below the surface of the water; to cave in, sink; to fail utterly, collapse; to stumble, especially to stumble and go lame, (used of horses); to become ill from overeating.

The second definition would be a really bad definition of the word ‘founder’ in connection to a church. I also think the first one does not fit a Pastor either. I understand in the world’s eyes, they may be seen as the ‘founder’ of a Church, if they are the pastor that ‘started’ the Church plant, but we are not of the world and I see no reason to try to label ourselves except for the reason of a ‘prideful’ heart. I am by no means calling all pastors that use the terms ‘founder’ in their title – prideful. I do believe it has the element of pride where there is no need for it.

When God moved my family to Utah to serve Him in the ministry there. I struggled with what to call myself and what title to use to introduce myself. After 9 years there, I ended up introducing myself as ‘Blake’. A few months after we arrived, a newspaper reporter interviewed us and wrote up an article about the Church that was being established in Springville. This reporter asked me “who is the head of your church?” Since we were an independent church, I answered “Christ was”. She, being from the prominent religion there in Utah, did not understand my answer. When the article was published she had changed my answer. She had printed “Pastor Blake Alling is the head of his church”. That was not what I said, nor was it what I wanted printed. So when I see Pastors use the word ‘founder’, it makes me remember this story.

In complete transparency, this was my struggle – and Christ was the answer.

Matthew 16:13-20 When Jesus came into the coasts of Caesarea Philippi, he asked his disciples, saying, Whom do men say that I the Son of man am? 14 And they said, Some say that thou art John the Baptist: some, Elias; and others, Jeremias, or one of the prophets. 15 He saith unto them, But whom say ye that I am? 16 And Simon Peter answered and said, Thou art the Christ, the Son of the living God. 17 And Jesus answered and said unto him, Blessed art thou, Simon Barjona: for flesh and blood hath not revealed it unto thee, but my Father which is in heaven. 18 And I say also unto thee, That thou art Peter, and upon this rock I will build my church; and the gates of hell shall not prevail against it. 19 And I will give unto thee the keys of the kingdom of heaven: and whatsoever thou shalt bind on earth shall be bound in heaven: and whatsoever thou shalt loose on earth shall be loosed in heaven. 20 Then charged he his disciples that they should tell no man that he was Jesus the Christ.

Christ is the answer to all of our needs. In fact, what He calls us is much better. He calls us saints, redeemed, His children, priests, heirs to His throne and friend. What else do we need to be called? What other manmade name do we need? No other name is important when we see who we are in Christ.

Pastor friend, you are special to God because you are beautiful to Him. You are important to the Jehovah God. You are worthy because of Christ. Do not feel you need man’s approval or man’s recognition to feel your worth.

Leave a comment

Filed under Church

Leave a comment